International Journal of Inactivism

You are in a maze of twisty little think-tanks, all different

cite as: F. Bi. 2008. You are in a maze of twisty little think-tanks, all alike. Intl. J. Inact., 1:161
cite as: F. Bi. 2008. You are in a twisty little maze of think-tanks, all different. Intl. J. Inact., 1:161

Note: The diagram of think-tanks is updated from time to time.
Check the end of this blog post to find the latest version!

Updates


8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. greenfyre said, on 2008-10-28 at 21:47

    Truly heartening to see such a high level of International Cooperation :-)

    Only 4 of the CSCCC memebers http://www.csccc.info/members.php at that IP? I wonder how many of the 37 affiliated “civil societies” are one man basement operations.

  2. Brian D said, on 2008-10-29 at 01:19

    Coordinated local (127.0.0.1) activism, anyone?

    Running a whois on that IP shows it’s a server in Calgary (coincidentally), registered to the Washington-based National Taxpayers Union. They currently have a big “no energy taxes” banner on their main site, and were part of the Phillip Morris Noise Machine.

    Anti-taxation, Phillip Morris foundation, current climate denial, single-basement echo chamber… This is sounding eerily familiar. (I don’t think there’s an explicit connection, although I haven’t looked deeply into the names involved.)

  3. frankbi said, on 2008-10-29 at 04:40

    Only 4 of the CSCCC memebers http://www.csccc.info/members.php at that IP?

    Make that 5. I just found that the Tennessee Centre for Policy Research (www.tennesseepolicy.org) — the group that likes making up Gore’s energy usage figures to criticize — is also at the same IP.

    There are also some groups with different IPs but under the same subnet, and this is also very intriguing.

    Coordinated local (127.0.0.1) activism, anyone?

    w00t :-B

    registered to the Washington-based National Taxpayers Union.

    Wow, interesting. Which whois program are you using? I couldn’t get my command line whois to say anything other than that the IP is under Lexicom Ltd.

    (And I see that the NTU site has the same IP too! This is supreme win.)

  4. Brian D said, on 2008-10-29 at 06:35

    Which whois program are you using?

    You’re going to slap yourself — I literally typed “whois 198.161.90.18″ into Google. It searched DomainTools.com, which returned this result, which returned the correct IP on other whois sites.

    Poking around a bit more (I posted my last comment from a lecture — nothing new for students, but I was teaching it at the time!), I found a few reverse IP tools, which return domains registered to a given IP. For example, look at the results for that IP.

    Take a look at how deep the rabbit hole truly is — The Family Institute, Atlas Economic Institute (a whopping 10 instances of “Freedom” on their front page alone), the Thomas Jefferson Institute, the Locke Institute, the Independence Institute, the Washington Policy Institute, to the Sustainable Development Network (a delightful greenwashing attempt that makes Lomborg’s look unsophisticated at times). And those are just the ones I recognize (or thought I recognized) that weren’t NTU or the ones you listed. All on the same IP out of Calgary.

    If that was supreme, then I believe this pushes us into the territory of — dare I say it — Epic Win?

    (By the way, what’s the code on WordPress to do quotes? I’m used to just using HTML as opposed to some blog-specific markup.)

  5. frankbi said, on 2008-10-29 at 11:41

    what’s the code on WordPress to do quotes?

    Well, <blockquote>…</blockquote>… that’s what I normally use, anyway.

    You’re going to slap yourself — I literally typed “whois 198.161.90.18″ into Google.

    AAARGH!!!!!!! *slaps self*

    If that was supreme, then I believe this pushes us into the territory of — dare I say it — Epic Win?

    Holy mother of batman on a pogo stick! This truly is the Pinnacle of Win.

  6. Climate Criminal said, on 2009-02-25 at 06:05

    Excellent!

  7. [...] a while back when I was exploring the network of ‘policy think-tanks’ which oppose global warming regulation, I floated the idea of [...]

  8. frankbi said, on 2009-09-16 at 16:53

    (climate criminal: The spam comment entered my spam box and I accidentally pressed “Approve” on it. My bad. It’s back in the spam box now.)


Leave a Reply